Newmarket Holidays

Meet the Newmarket team – Claire Davies

Leave a comment

Claire Davies - Newmarket Holidays

 

We recently chatted to Newmarket Holidays’ super-friendly Events Coordinator Claire Davies. Claire has been with the company for an unbelievable 29 years, so she’s a great person to go to if you need information. Plus she’s a delight to work with and has a truly infectious giggle!

Hi Claire, what does your current position here involve?

I’ve had a few different jobs at Newmarket Holidays but in my current role as Events Coordinator, I look after some of our big events such as Andre Rieu in Maastricht and also operate our River Cruises. Although the river cruise side isn’t organising events as such, it makes for a varied job which I love.

You’ve been at the company a long time, Claire. What keeps you here?

Without a doubt the people I work with! Everyone is hard working and interesting in their own way and it really feels like you are part of a big team too – which to me is really important. I also love the travelling I have been able to do with my job. I think I have spent about 15 months of my working life in Disneyland Paris and about the same in New York … as well as visiting The Netherlands, Germany, Belgium and Italy many times. I’ve seen so many changes at Newmarket during my time here and I have literally grown up with the company. I think I’m like Newmarket Rock – if you cut me in two you’d see the Newmarket Logo!

What’s the best place you’ve ever visited and why?

My heart is torn between Paris and New York, probably as I have spent so much time in both. They are vastly different but each has their own special appeal. I am a city girl through and through.

What’s your favourite thing to do on holiday?

Once I am confident I have seen the key sights, I just love to have a wander around and really get a feel for a place. You never fail to find something of interest when you just walk the streets.

Which Newmarket trip would you go on if you could?

I would love to go on the Fall Colours of New England and Canada tour, as the scenery looks stunning in the photos. I am actually going to the Blackpool Illuminations and Tower Ballroom Tea Dance with my best friend in October. I’ve been on many Newmarket holidays over the years to Italy, Spain, Paris, Battlefields and lots of UK tours.

Who is your hero?

My Dad without a doubt. He encouraged me to work in travel when I was younger and loved to travel himself. He was kind, generous and funny. Everything you want in a person.

If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

That is the hardest question ever – how on earth can you pick that? I think if you had to pin me down I would go for a full Christmas dinner so I had lots of bases covered.

What would you sing at karaoke night?

I can’t sing but I love it! It would have to be Sweet Caroline – you can’t beat a classic Neil Diamond song.

Can you tell us an interesting fact about yourself?

I volunteered in a Peruvian Orphanage in my thirties. It totally changed my outlook on life which I will be forever grateful for.

Thank you, Claire – it was lovely to chat.

Leave a Reply

