Newmarket Holidays

100 Trips with Newmarket Holidays – and Counting

Leave a comment

100 trips and counting

Having just booked her 100th – and 101st – trip with Newmarket Holidays, Jean, who lives in the south-west of England, has become our first client to break the ‘century’.  We caught up with her to find out a bit about her, her love of travel and her reasons for returning to Newmarket Holidays again and again – and again.

Have you always been an avid traveller?

I have always enjoyed travelling. When I was working it was a major part of my job and at that time I travelled extensively throughout England. My travelling extends beyond Newmarket Holidays, since I take several longer holidays with my husband throughout the year, local day trips and weekends away by rail.

You’ve reached your 100th trip with Newmarket Holidays, what keeps you coming back?

I believe that Newmarket Holidays offer value for money. The trips are easy to book, either by telephone or online.

It gives me a chance to see and visit many concerts, events and locations, which I would not be able to do in such a convenient manner. In fact, if I did not go with Newmarket Holidays, I probably would not have seen many of the concerts and events, nor indeed the different places in the UK and Europe.

Even though I have travelled many times, the tour managers and drivers still treat me in the same manner as other passengers. The phrase ‘familiarity breeds contempt’ certainly does not apply. Over the years, I have learnt many interesting things from your excellent tour managers and coach drivers.

You’ve been travelling with us for over 10 years now; can you pick a favourite from your 100 trips?

I have many favourites, but if I was to pick one or two, it would have to be the André Rieu concerts in Maastricht and the Daniel O’Donnell concerts in Ireland. Both combine fantastic concerts, along with great tours of the areas.

Among your plethora of long and short breaks with us, there are a few trips that keep popping up year after year. What is it about these holidays that you find so enjoyable?

There are many areas where it is possible to go back again and see other things which were not possible within the time allowed previously on a short break. In addition, even if it is the same trip, different experiences can be enjoyed depending on the route, weather conditions, etc. The Dutch bulb fields trip at Keukenhof Gardens is a prime example – each year the theme, atmosphere and displays are totally different from the previous year.

Have you made any lasting friendships on your travels with Newmarket Holidays?

Yes, I have made many lasting friendships over the years. Some of these people travel with me, some I see regularly throughout the year for social occasions, and some I meet again when they are travelling on Newmarket Holidays.

On average you take a trip with us every seven weeks or so, what is it that you enjoy about a coach holiday?

Coach holidays are convenient and with the local pick-ups I do not have to travel two or three hours before my holiday begins. I board a coach and then everything is organised by the tour manager and the driver. I do not have to worry about the route, traffic, parking, etc. Therefore, as soon as I board the coach I can relax.

On different occasions, I travel with my husband or friends, but often I travel on my own. When I do travel on my own, I feel that I am always in a safe environment. Compared with other ways of taking holidays, coach holidays are very cost effective. Coach holidays allow me to further pursue my love of the theatre and music.

Do you have plans for future trips with us – beyond those already booked?

Definitely, yes! I am always on the lookout for new concerts and events. If they were available from my area, I would also like to book Emmerdale – The Tour trip, Afternoon Tea at Chatsworth House and the Tatton Park Flower Show.

Is there anywhere in the world that is still on your ‘bucket-list’?

Yes, to attend the Last Night of the Proms at the Royal Albert Hall – I shall be there this Saturday, 12th September 2015!

Leave a Reply

